You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...

Newbie Here
09-01-2015, 11:36 AM
Newbie Here
Hey everyone, My name is Mat, I'm new here. Not sure how active it is here but I thought I'd give it a go anyways.

Been a long while since I've really fished, I used to fish a lot when I was younger, pretty much every day, I lived on Lake Scugog. Once I moved from the lake I got into Cars and Car Audio and my time was spent at shows instead of on the water.

I haven't fished for a while, I'm basically a newbie again. As I go on I start remembering things but its taking a bit to re learn everything. Recently I took a trip to South Carolina where I decided I wanted to try fishing again, Bought some gear and tried Surf Shark Fishing. Had a blast, brought back memories of fishing as a kid and now that I'm home I'm looking to continue fishing as I still enjoy it.

Anyways, that's my story, I'm going to be making a post looking for some tips and pointers, Looks like I've come to the right place since I no longer have a boat.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-01-2015, 01:43 PM
RE: Newbie Here
Welcome aboard! Surf shark fishing, I would like to try. Feel free to post on your experiences (including pics Smile )
09-02-2015, 06:47 AM
Thanks for the welcome.

zippyFX, It was a lot of fun. Sort of Unsuccessful, but I learned a lot and had a great time.

Started out a few weeks before leaving and I was researching things to do in Myrtle Beach when I found fishing charters, Looking through the charter pages I saw shark fishing charters. That got me thinking, I never liked the idea of charters too much, they bring you out to known spots, rig up their rods and lines, bait the hooks and basically hook the fish for you then just have you reel it in with over sized gear. There's no real skill, technique or fun, just a test of strength, how fast you can reel it in.