You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this board...

Pound for Pound
05-25-2014, 11:04 PM (This post was last modified: 05-25-2014 11:05 PM by zippyFX.)
Pound for Pound
So pound for pound whats the best freshwater fish for fight and excitement. Not that I have a lot of experience with many species but my top 3 would be:

(1) Carp now that I have been on some more
(2) Catfish
(3) Pike/Musky
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
05-26-2014, 09:43 AM
RE: Pound for Pound
Definitely Smallmouth at # 1 Channel Cats #2 Carp # 3 ....

Work is a necessity... Fishing is a lifestyle Smile

http://fishinenvy.wordpress.com/
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
05-26-2014, 02:13 PM
(05-25-2014 11:04 PM)zippyFX Wrote:  So pound for pound whats the best freshwater fish for fight and excitement. Not that I have a lot of experience with many species but my top 3 would be:

(1) Carp now that I have been on some more
(2) Catfish
(3) Pike/Musky

Hmmmmm.......... for freshwater FIGHT/EXCITEMENT:

At 5 pounds each - Smallmouth would beat them all.

But smallmouth don't ever get as big as your selection.

At 15 - 20 pounds - my choice in order would be - Muskie, Rainbow, Channel Cats, Carp.

Salmon get big - but its usually a long dull tug o' war really.

Cheers,

OldTimer

<>< I once gave up fishing. It was the most terrifying weekend of my life. ><>

See you on the river.
05-26-2014, 03:20 PM
I've always believed that Sunfish and Bluegill are pound for pound the best fighters. They don't get very big, but no fish of the same weight fights as hard as one of those guys!

Other than that, I'd say smallies or Steelhead
05-26-2014, 03:25 PM
Oooooooh, a 5lb pumpkinseed, that WOULD be fun. Since they -at regular size- make up 90% of everything I've caught so far this year, I can only imagine what a monster one would be like.